Monday, March 29, 2010

false sunshine

it's weird, the rain.
i've realized that i really do like when it rains - not that i'd enjoy having it rain 24/7, i like the sunshine too, but there's something about a dark sky and a wet world that i enjoy. maybe it's days like today, when waking up in the morning to a dark room means wanting to sleep more - and, thankfully, being able to. of course, since it's spring break, i like the idea of sunny days filled with warm weather, but sometimes the rain is nice too. it also gives me an excuse to hole up in my room and 'get something done.'
the strangest thing about rainy days though is that they like to trick you. not twenty minutes ago, the sky was bright with the promise of sun -- now it's dark and miserable outside again. the weirdest thing is when there's sunshine, but the sky is still overcast and gloomy.
whatever, just thoughts.

Sunday, March 7, 2010

tea

i made myself a cup of tea.
when i drink tea, i rarely drink anything other than earl grey. because of my longing for a life in england, i suppose my love of the earl makes some sense. i made a cup with loose-leaf, and i leave the strainer in there until i drink it all -- i'm definitely not afraid of a little extra flavor. i don't take sugar either, only milk. that's another thing: i love pouring in the milk and watching it swirl around the cup like some sort of liquid dancer. i almost feel wrong to stir the two substances together, but i know they don't mind.
after it's all fixed, i don't drink it right away. i could say that it's because i want to enjoy the warmth in my hands, but it's actually because i'm not a fan of scalding the roof of my mouth. regardless, i take this time to really take it in. earl grey for me is almost like bacon -- tastes great, but smells even better. if i close my eyes and inhale, i almost feel like i'm in london again, although the thickness of the mug's lip in contrast to a traditional teacup often ruins my fantasy.
drinking tea makes me happy, one of those few things that can make me smile no matter how i actually feel.
it's sunday morning, and i feel great.

lalala~

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

sore

hello!
we're doing yoga after school for two weeks, and i am LOVING it! i am absolutely euphoric that this opportunity has been provided to me, and i plan to take full advantage of it.
too bad i'm sore.
but that's a minor setback - plus, i kind of like being sore - and one that brings more benefits when it leaves.
anyway, i just figured i'd check in and communicate how amazing yoga is making me feel. finally doing it after months of wanting to has made me realize how much i enjoy it. such a connection with yourself, and i feel proud of myself for the little things i can do.
so i'm going to shower now because i'm a little sweaty, and lost is on tonight so that's another plus. right now, all the stress of everything seems nonexistent.
namaste(:

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

fat cats & no stress

i'm proud of myself for blogging again. i realize no one really reads it, but if it makes me feel accomplished, i don't really care. plus, it's kind of like a journal, which is unheard of for me to keep, so it works on that front too.
anyway:
today we took FCAT writes. not gonna lie, i was kind of stressing out, playing the 'what if' card i always seem to carry with me. still, it actually wasn't too bad, (at least I finished) and i didn't forget everything, which is a plus. after it was over, i felt a kind of release: no more writing FCATs... ever. wow.
aside from that, i'd been dreading FCAT writes since around the two week mark. i knew i was fully capable, but it still stressed me out a little. let's face it -- i'm not the fastest brainstormer on the planet, and to have to write a 5 paragraph essay in 45 minutes is -- was -- a challenge for me. but like i said, it went well, and now i'm home free so to speak. well, after GP, but that's a different story for a different day.

oh well, lost is on tonight. (:

Saturday, February 6, 2010

r.i.p, gibson

today, i found out that my favorite little friend died. actually, he wasn't my favorite friend, and he kind of scared me, but i did find out that he died. rather - i saw him dead. now he's just a carcass of... whatever that is iguanas are made of. i'm guessing he died during the cold snap along with so many of his brethren. oh, and his head is not on his body. i don't know if that's regulation with iguanas, (oh, hey, i'm dead. head, you can fall off now) because all the dead ones i saw during the aforementioned cold snap were also headless.
is it wrong to have taken pictures?

Thursday, February 4, 2010

you know,

homework SUCKS. i actually don't mind school -- i have fun, i learn, it's whatever. in my perfect world, i probably wouldn't even mind going to school. granted, i'd probably leave out the testing, but other than that, it's tolerable.
oh yeah, and the homework.
i hate devoting 8 hours of my day to constant learning, only to come home and have to do it all over again. like tonight: i've been doing homework of some sort since i arrived home at 3:20. yes, i haven't been religiously studying, there's been some visits to facebook thrown in there, but i haven't really put my homework down completely and done something entertaining since i got home from school. it just sucks when something consumes all of one's time, that's all.
speaking of homework, i still have three more math formulas to memorize for a test tomorrow. bye!

Thursday, January 28, 2010

bright eyes

i've been SO happy lately.
and lemme tell you, it's amazing.
i love feeling in a good mood, and knowing that i'm the one causing it is even more appealing to myself.
recently, i've been waking up in the morning with a smile on my face, happily greeting the day. just doing that pretty much molds the rest of the day into something wonderful and good. this whole week has been amazing, and i'm proud to say that i'm the one who made it that way.
but really, moral of the story is that one can create his/her own happiness, and nothing but that person should be able to negatively influence his/her outlook.

P.s.,
LOST COMES BACK ON TUESDAY.
i'm not sure whether or not i should be sad or excited -- it is the last season, after all.